Sunday, June 23, 2024
HomeSportsWhat to Expect from the 2023 Cricket World Cup?

What to Expect from the 2023 Cricket World Cup?

The Cricket World Cup first took place in England in 1975. The 13th edition of the tournament will be hosted in India later this year. Ten teams will be competing for the trophy, including England as the defending champions. This is the first time India will be the sole host and the fourth time it has hosted the tournament. 

Previous winners

In 2019, England won the trophy on home soil. They defeated New Zealand in a thrilling final. Australia has already won the Cricket World Cup five times. India and West Indies have won twice each. The event takes place every four years and is one of the most-watched sporting events. There are also many fans that enjoy betting on the event.

One of the most common bets to place is to choose which team will win. Another popular type of bet that gamblers can place using a sports betting app is a props bet. They may bet on a player in a team to make the most runs. A bet on the Man of the Match is another option. This is awarded to the player from either team who puts in the best performance overall. One of the most popular bets of all is a futures bet on who wins the competition.

Who will be taking part?

The ten teams playing in the tournament include India, England, New Zealand, Australia, Pakistan, Afghanistan, Bangladesh, and South Africa. These teams have qualified for ODI cricket results since the last world cup. West Indies, Zimbabwe, and Ireland failed to qualify. The Netherlands and Sri Lanka earned their places through a qualifying tournament held earlier this year.  

Live and in-play betting gives sports bettors the opportunity to place a bet once a match is already going. Live betting sites offer detailed stats and infographics that give sports bettors a clear idea about how the match is going.

The latest cricket news on specific sports blogs can be enlightening for sports bettors. They can get player statistics and updates from various sources. It can help to decide on bets by looking at the past record of teams in World Cup matches, researching batsmen and their preferred style, etc. 

What is the format? 

The tournament will consist of a round-robin stage followed by the knockouts. All teams will play against each other in the round-robin. A victory in the round-robin stage will earn the winning side two points. A tie or no result means the teams will share a point each. At the end of the round-robin stage, the four teams at the top will be in the semi-finals. The winners of the two semi-finals will compete in the final.

The final

The final will take place on 19 November 2023, and the world cup winners will receive the trophy. With India’s recent good form, it will be hoping to gain a third title. Australia, Pakistan, and English are other favorites to win. England will be hoping to retain its title but India will have the home advantage.

With so many matches and such intense competition, it isn’t any wonder that sportsbooks provide such great markets. The upcoming tournament is likely to be an exciting one, and players are already pushing themselves to reach peak performance levels.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments